Skip to content

made anew

28 February 2010

I am sunk in a reverie deeper
than the clear family well from which I drank in my childhood
contemplating the meaning
of a life lived in a world full of so much grief, anger, and sorrow
and see beyond that into
the beauty that lies hidden, mingled inside the darkest of days

there was a moment when
in the midst of shadows of darkness gathering all around me,
my soul all but overcome
I was taken with the sudden understanding of beauty in grief
joy in anger, and love in sorrow
and I was full to bursting, thinking that my heart would rupture
for the ineffable rapture
of the secret life of meaning hidden deep behind the means of all things

I drank from the well of living water
and in my heart’s great moment I found cause to stop and wonder
if this is what was meant in saying
The old things are passed away, behold all things are made new

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 28 February 2010 19:44

    Aha! It’s positive! Joyful! True! and beautiful … of course.

    I really like this one.

  2. 28 February 2010 20:40

    LOL! I guess it can happen, Karen.

    And it’s even in the alternating long-form lines that you didn’t care much for! I’m happy.

  3. 28 February 2010 21:19

    Heh, just goes to show that structure is less important to me than the thought (and who knows how THAT part works) *grin* And I call myself a poet. Structure-lovers everywhere may now cringe at the thought and glare.

Leave a Reply

