Skip to content

faded and jaded

26 March 2010

like my favorite shirt
that’s washed too much
i am all faded, jaded
and full of stains;
soft but tattered
my thoughts all scattered
and i just can’t trust
that i’m not totally insane.
not a day goes by that i
don’t lay awake and cry
thinking of you and wondering
why i don’t know your name;
and the truth is just this
that i’d like the promised bliss
but i just can’t risk another slip
over something so surreal
that can cause me so much pain,
not the least of which
is that like flipping a switch
i could so easily go down
a road that leads to nowhere good,
off a cliff at ninety and drown
and you just an ornament on the hood…
so to you i guess i’ll apologize
and just have to be one of those guys
who passes up on something good
because he can’t keep getting hurt.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 26 March 2010 06:17

    Excuse me … I’ll stop laughing at you in a moment. It’s the “just an ornament on the hood” bit that got me. Ahaha! Carrots and cliffs and cars … I think, when it shows up for real, it will sneak up behind you with a stick, so I wouldn’t worry about it too much.

  2. 26 March 2010 06:20

    Ehehe… I’m soooo comforting ain’t I? You need to chat with me soon or I’ll threaten to disown you.

    • 26 March 2010 14:35

      It’s not from lack of trying lately, you know…it’s just that we keep missing each other…

Leave a Reply

