Skip to content

haunting

23 March 2010

haunting whispers the sound of your name
carried on the winds of my dreams
and things that i have never felt course within
the veins that would bleed for you
if i but knew who you were;
shadowy, vague, i can remember only a little
when i wake, but my deepest longing now
is to take your hand in mine,
and listen to the sound of the waves
the voice of the sea that ever calls to me
like the sound of your voice in these dreams…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 23 March 2010 20:39

    Beautiful. Lovely. What other descriptor of beauty can I use?

  2. 24 March 2010 14:31

    Thanks Glynn! I’m not sure I’d go with beautiful…certainly wistful, longing, and…well, maybe a little beautiful after all. As always, I appreciate the compliments!

  3. donnadakota permalink
    24 March 2010 15:42

    Very nice work. I’ll check back again to see more work.

    • 29 March 2010 13:37

      Thank you very much. I stumbled across your blog recently as well! I am much impressed. And thank you again.

  4. 27 March 2010 15:19

    This has a wistful lyricism. I particularly like how you connect sound of voice, wind, waves, sea, the voice of dreams. Quite lovely.

    • 29 March 2010 13:38

      Thank you, Maureen! The sea is probably my first love…and all love has something savory and something bittersweet like it. Thanks for noticing.

  5. 28 March 2010 22:11

    full of longing . . . this poem is haunting in more than just name. 🙂

Leave a comment